Kat Von D Tattoo Liner Review

IMG_20150131_200645625A month ago, I purchased the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in the color Trooper. Liquid liner is a staple for me. I don’t feel like myself without winged liner on! After going cruelty-free, I sadly had to leave behind the Stila Stay All Day liner, and have been searching desperately for a replacement ever since. Because drug store liners tend to dry out quickly, I decided to give the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner a try. Here are my thoughts on it so far:

This liner is unlike any other liquid liners I have used before because instead of a felt tip, it has a brush tip. Brush tips are supposedly superior to felt tips because they remain sharp; however, I have found the brush tip to be a curse rather than a blessing.

IMG_20150304_195953528_HDR

The tip is not as sharp and stiff as the felt tipped liners I have used in the past, making it difficult to get the perfect point. Since the brush tip works by capillary action, the tip will occasionally go dry in the middle of doing my eyeliner and rub away the liner I have already drawn on. Then, I will have to get the ink flowing again by swatching it on my hand and then go back over my eyeliner. But when the liner does work, it is very dark and opaque, superseding most drugstore felt tipped liners. It is also quite budge-proof and smudges and fades minimally after being rubbed.

IMG_20150304_200311201

Tattoo Liner swatch

???????????????????????????????

Tattoo Liner on

I had high expectations for this product and really wanted to love it, but it I don’t think I will be repurchasing it. I definitely do not hate it. It is a very nice liner and once it’s on, it looks and wears very nicely. I just do not think it is worth the fuss it gives me from time to time, especially for a high end liner. I will probably be sticking with felt tipped liners from now on.

That being said, many people do rave about this liner, so it is still worth a try if you are interested. I would recommend experimenting with it in the store before purchasing it to ensure the brush tip suits you.

Best,

Leila

10 thoughts on “Kat Von D Tattoo Liner Review

  1. It’s actually my favorite liner I’m sorry you didn’t get on with it well! I do understand what you mean by having more control with a felt tip, I think I’ve just become accustomed to the brush tip since using it for so long now!

    Like

    • I have been using felt tipped liners for years now, so I definitely do not have the hang of the brush tip yet. I find the brush tip to be less firm and stable, since it is made of bristles, making it more difficult to control. But if the brush tip works well for you, that’s awesome! I need your eyeliner skills! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It looks fabulous on you but I understand the issue. I prefer felt tips for precision and, also, because one can never ever be certain about the bristle origin in products manufactured in China. Have you tried the angled pen eyeliner?.

    Like

  3. I really fell in love with this product and I’ve just struggled getting a good wing or flick with a lot of products I’ve tried. I think I’ve bought like 7 different high end liner brushes for my gels. How sad, right? I bought this product (Well, the tattoo liner, actually) and within minutes, perfect wings. Day after Day, perfection. My only gripe is I store the pen downward and tightly capped and after 5-6 uses I would notice the ink flow would stop. I can get it going again but when you are in the middle of the flick, it’s frustrating. I wrote to the company, waiting to hear back. I might just buy another one and see if the same thing happens but otherwise, I’ve gotten really precise beautiful lines with this product.

    And smudging and budging? No way. It stays put but this ink flow issue! I need help.

    Like

Leave a Reply

