Darken Your Hair Naturally

darken your hair naturally

Last weekend, I purchased a box of black tea. To my disappointment, it stained the inside of my nice blue mug! 😦 However, that gave me an idea: what if I used tea to darken my hair? So I decided to give it a try!

IMG_20150103_184304028

You Will Need:

  • 3 bags of black tea
  • Large bowl
  • 2-3 cups of hot water
  • Hair tie
  • Wide-toothed comb
  • Optional: Shower cap

Instructions:

1. Begin by steeping 3 bags of black tea in 2-3 cups of water in a large bowl. Make sure the tea is very strong in order to give more dramatic results.

IMG_20150103_190610923

I allowed the tea bags to steep for about 5 minutes to reach my desired strength

2. Soak your hair in the tea for about 5 minutes. Then, pour the remainder over your hair and comb through it with the wide toothed comb to evenly distribute the tea from root to tip.

3. Tie your hair into a bun and allow the tea to sit for about an hour. The longer you leave the tea on your hair, the better results you will achieve. If you wish, wear a shower cap over the bun.

4. Afterwards, rinse out your hair and allow it to dry.

My Results

Here are my before and after pictures!

IMG_20150103_184922274

Before

IMG_20150103_213903789

After

  As you can see, I have naturally dark hair, so the results are not very dramatic on me.  If you have lighter hair, you may be able to notice a more significant change. Since tea is natural and gentle, you do not have to worry about damaging your hair. Therefore, if you would like to achieve more dramatic results, you can repeat this process as many times as you would like!  And plus, this method of dying your hair is not permanent, so if you do not like it, rest assured it will wash out soon.

I personally like the results, though I wish the color was more dramatic. If you are looking for a subtle, commitment-free change to your hair, this is definitely worth a try!

Best,

Leila

10 thoughts on “Darken Your Hair Naturally

Leave a Reply

