My Eighteenth Birthday!

IMG_20141216_224849

I (finally) turned eighteen on Tuesday the 16th! I had an amazing day, so I thought I would share it with you!

I began the day bright and early, taking a 7:30 AM train back home from college. Conveniently, the day before had been my last day of finals. After a super fun 5 hour train ride (sarcasm), I finally made it home!

For lunch, I made the boxed vegan Mac and Cheese from Earth Balance in the cheddar flavor, which is really amazing stuff!  I also added some steamed broccoli florets. I know I’m supposed to be an adult now, but boxed mac and cheese will always have a special place in my heart.

IMG_20141216_124543123

And of course, I had to spend the afternoon with my favorite pet tortoise, Macantosh!

IMG_20141216_165143457

Then, I took a trip to Trader Joe’s. One of the items I picked up was this pack of soy ice cream sandwiches! Can’t wait to try them!

IMG_20141217_143810055

For dinner, we went out to one of my favorite restaurants, Flat Top Grill. This is a super nice restaurant for anyone with dietary restrictions. You simply make your own stir fry by picking out the ingredients yourself and filling your bowl. There are plenty of fresh veggies, vegan protein such as seitan, tofu, and mushroom protein, and and many vegan sauces. If you wish to avoid contamination, you place a white stick into your order so they cook it in a separate wok. Here is my dinner:

IMG_20141216_203441132

There was a Barnes and Noble right down the street, so we stopped in and looked around. I picked up the January issue of Alternative Press because it contains the annual holiday poster special with twenty pictures of some of the best in alternative music artists for 2014.

IMG_20141216_230831536

I also found this adorable peta2 ad in the issue of Alternative Press! Love it; such an important message! It is amazing to see that animal rights activism is being spread far and wide.

IMG_20141216_230914666

After we got home, it was time for cake! My family made me these chocolate vegan cupcakes using an accidentally vegan chocolate cake mix, soy milk, and Ener-G egg replacer. They also topped them with vegan vanilla frosting! The cupcakes are placed in the shape of a turtle. The rightmost cupcake has 2 chocolate chips for eyes!

IMG_20141216_222059108They were so kind to make these amazingly delicious cupcakes for me! I love that they went out of their way to make this extra special gesture for me on my birthday! My family is the best. ❤

My sister gave me this amazing candle from Bath and Body Works as a gift. It is mint mocha bark scented! It is so cute! I love the little mason jar it comes in. The scent is amazing. It smells like minty hot chocolate! I am obsessed! ❤

IMG_20141216_224303494

IMG_20141216_230526361

That was my eighteenth birthday! It was a super exciting birthday for me, as I had been looking forward to turning eighteen for a long time. It feels both amazing and scary that I am officially an adult now! All of  the birthday wishes from my friends and family really made me feel the warmth and fuzzies!

It was also my first birthday being vegan. As you can see, I was still able to enjoy the same tasty treats as I enjoyed as a non-vegan. From mac and cheese, to ice cream, to cupcakes, to stir fry, anything can be made vegan! I have said it before and I will say it again: When you go vegan, the only thing you have to give up is cruelty!

Best,

Leila

16 thoughts on “My Eighteenth Birthday!

  1. Happy birthday! I love that you had a great day and I also love when my family (and friends) make delicious treats for me. It makes the day even more special. Enjoy your 18th year!

    Like

  2. It sounds like you had a good time 🙂 I had no clue Vegan M&C existed. BTW,the perks of being an adult aren’t that you have to stop eating mac n cheese… just that you can eat it whenever you want 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

