My Vegan Thanksgiving!

I had an amazing time celebrating my first vegan Thanksgiving! Hopefully, a turkey somewhere is smiling because of it.

is that for me

A turkey at the SASHA Farm Sanctuary

The morning was spent curled up by the fireplace watching Friends with my favorite little cutie pie, Macantosh, while snacking on a veggie tray with hummus:

IMG_20141127_132738254

IMG_20141127_140240997

My family was kind enough to pick up many delicious vegan holiday dishes for me.

Every year, one of my favorite dishes to make is cranberry sauce. I love boiling the whole cranberries and watching them pop. It is super easy to do (you just boil the cranberries in a pot with 1 cup water and 1 cup sugar), and tastes so much better than the canned version.

IMG_20141127_103049880

Stuffing is also a delicious dish (when it’s not stuffed up a turkey’s butt, of course). Unfortunately, most pre-made stuffings are made with chicken broth or contain milk or eggs. You could easily make your own with vegetable broth and bread cubes, but if you are lazy like me, you could pick up this vegan stuffing mix from 365 Everyday Value at Whole Foods:

IMG_20141127_100732635

My favorite holiday drink is this Cranberry Splash Sierra Mist. It is available only during the holiday season at Target, Meijer, or other grocery stores. It’s very light, fruity, and delicious. I am really not a fan of that sparkling grape juice that comes in a fancy bottle, but drinking a glass of this makes me feel just as festive:

IMG_20141127_103321548

My family also picked up this Coco Whip from So Delicious, the brand that never disappoints. This stuff was amazing! It was 10x better than cool whip. I stored it in the fridge, and it was super soft, creamy, light, and delicious.

IMG_20141127_211144686_HDR

This was the star of the show, our vegan Holiday Roast from Gardein. It turned out amazing, my entire family loved it:

IMG_20141127_103147704

IMG_20141127_173416665

When we finally finished preparing the meal, this is what our cruelty-free dinner table looked like:

IMG_20141127_173443801

And here is my delicious plate of vegan food:

IMG_20141127_173851459

Unfortunately, dessert was not nearly as spectacular. Whole Foods was out of vegan pumpkin pies, so I had to bake my own. (I really can’t bake, and I have never baked a pie in my life.) It did not turn out very good at all. The only way to make it presentable was to cover it with whipped cream. Maybe next time?

IMG_20141127_210633149

The holidays can be a great concern for many new or prospective vegetarians and vegans. However, it is very easy to veganize all of your favorite recipes. As you can see, I was able to make delicious vegan versions of all the holiday dishes I enjoyed as a non-vegan. It is simply a matter of purchasing different ingredients and using different recipes. The idea of revamping your holiday tradition may seem daunting at first, but in all of the veganized dishes, the same comfort and familiarity remains.  As I always say, the only thing you have to give up when you go vegan is cruelty!

Best,

Leila

8 thoughts on “My Vegan Thanksgiving!

  1. Wait, so did your whole family eat the Gardein turkey instead of a regular turkey? That’s amazing that they’re so supportive. The pie looks really yummy. And vegan baking is the best because you can eat batter without worrying about salmonella.
    Looks like you had a great Thanksgiving!

    Like

    • Yes, my family is vegetarian (mostly) so they do not eat turkey either. They have been very supportive of my vegan lifestyle, which I am very grateful for. Lol I definitely did eat a bit of the uncooked pie filling. It felt great to not need to fear for my life, haha! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

