Straight Edge in College

straight edge 2

I have been in college for almost 3 full months now, so I thought I would write an update on my experience being straight edge. Straight edge means no drinking alcohol, smoking, using drugs, and (in my case) consuming excess caffeine. It also includes abstaining from emotionless sex. Living straight edge definitely goes against the grain, but the benefits of this lifestyle are beyond worth it.

This semester, I have chosen to stay away from college parties. Football is an huge part of the culture here, as I attend a Big Ten school, so before games people go CRAZY. I live next to several fraternities, and earlier in the year when it was warmer, people would be up partying before 9 AM. The music was so loud, it would wake me up!

I am not hugely into sports, so I don’t mind missing out on tailgates. But the time I felt most left out was on Halloween. I felt a lonely spending the night inside by myself while my friends went to parties. The reason why I choose not to attend parties isn’t because I fear that I would be tempted to drink, but because I don’t want to influenced by the atmosphere there.ย  I would rather engage in more positive activities that align with my values.

Abstaining from coffee, the drink most college students run on, is also difficult. I choose to not drink caffeinated beverages because I do not want to give them the power to control my mood and behavior. I do not want to get to the point where I need coffee to function. However, I have been enjoying drinking caffeine-free herbal tea insteadย  With the weather becoming colder, sipping a warm mug of tea feels feels so calming.

Overall, I am very happy with my choice to live straight edge in college. I know there will be times when I feel left out because I choose to live this way, but it will all be worthwhile in the end. I want to always experience life in its purest form. It gives me a far better feeling than any substance ever could.

Best,

Leila

10 thoughts on “Straight Edge in College

  1. I’ve been straight edge going on eight years, though I have a long and sordid history before that, I wish I’d always embraced it. These days delirium of staying up late -sober- is a party enough for me. Be proud, you’re making a wise choice.

    Like

  2. I give you so much credit for the no coffee thing. I was never a big partier in college, but caffeine was always a big one for me. These days a cup of coffee in the morning is generally all I do, but in college I was drinking two of the 20oz cans of Red Bull every day. I know, gross.
    It takes a pretty strong person not to fall in with everyone else going to parties and participating in these activities, and I commend you for making this choice ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your support! Caffeine is definitely difficult to abstain from, since it’s easy to get in the habit of drinking it every day. I hope that as my schedule gets busier, I can still go without it!

      Like

      • I think you should be okay since you’re getting into the habit of drinking tea. Since you don’t need it now, you should be fine without it even as you get busier. I don’t know if you were a coffee drinker before, but if you start to feel like you need it, try grabbing a cup of decaf. Since you’re cutting out caffeine, just having the flavor should be enough.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

