October Favorites!

october favorites

It is hard to believe that November is already here! The trees have already lost most of their leaves, and we had our first snow on Halloween.  I love fall, and I do not want it to end just yet!  Please, wait a few more weeks before breaking out the Christmas decorations!

Highlights

This month, I attended Chicago Vegan Mania! (I wrote a post all about my experience here.) I loved seeing so many vegans in one place. It truly felt empowering to know that I am not alone in the fight for animal liberation! Not to mention that I got to enjoy a ton of delicious vegan food!

IMG_20141011_130620377

IMG_20141011_134948653

Pumpkin Pie Ice Cream made from hemp milk!

Beauty

I did not wear much makeup during October. The chilly mornings left me wanting to spend a few more minutes under the covers! However, I have been loving dark lips this month, such as wet n wild’s Black Orchid and Red-dy or Not. I also picked up the raw vegan Chai spice lipbalm from Hurraw! It smells so delightful and is very moisturizing, too. It makes me feel like I just took a sip of a warm and spicy Chai latte!

IMG_20141102_165004558

Fashion

I love wearing vegan boots during the fall time. When paired with skinny jeans and a sweater, boots add a cozy yet put-together touch to any outfit. I love my faux leather riding boots from American Eagle. They are super warm and great for walking around campus. And when I’m feeling lazy, I always go to my adorable booties from Macy’s. They feel as comfortable as slippers!

IMG_20141102_165239842

With the weather cooling down, I have found myself frequently wearing beanies this month. I always grab my cat beanie from Pac Sun. How is this not the cutest? It has ears!

IMG_20141102_165117900

Food

This month, I have been enjoying using my new blender to make green smoothies. I am in love with Naked’s Green Machine smoothies, but find them a bit too pricy to justify drinking them regularly. So I decided to start making my own! My go-to recipe is kale, oranges, apples, bananas, and a bit of water.

IMG_20141025_162559171

I have also been loving Trader Joe’s Pumpkin O’s, a breakfast cereal. Their light pumpkin flavor and crunch is so yummy! I took a trip to Trader Joe’s last weekend to repurchase them, but they were all sold out! 😦 So if you can get your hands on a box,  I definitely recommend trying them out!

IMG_20141012_192225987_HDR

Books, Movies, and Music

This month, I had the opportunity to attend a showing of Cowspiracy: The Sustainability Secret. I absolutely loved it! It even rivals Vegucated for my favorite vegan documentary. Cowspiracy was an extremely eye opening and powerful film. It provided many strong statistics that bring light the need for the world to switch to a plant based diet. Many people are unaware of the devastation their meal choices wreck on the environment. This film made the environmental imperatives for veganism undeniably obvious. If a showing of Cowspiracy comes to a town near you, I highly recommend you see it!

As for music, this month I have been listening to a lot of Bring Me The Horizon. (And to make this band even better, the lead singer Oli Sykes is vegetarian and guitarist Jona Weinhofen is a longtime vegan!) I especially enjoy their latest album, Sempiternal. The lyrics in this album are so powerful. My favorite comes from the song Can You Feel  My Heart: “The higher I get, the lower I’ll sink. I can’t drown my demons, they know how to swim.” I have been feeling a lot of frustration in my life lately, so when I first heard these lyrics, I really resonated with them.

These are all of my favorites. 🙂 ❤ I am not ready for October to be over, but I have plenty to look forward to during the month of November. This month, I will be seeing my absolute favorite band, Arch Enemy, in concert! I also cannot wait to spend time with my family over Thanksgiving, as well as cook many yummy vegan dishes!

What have you been loving during October, and what are you looking forward to?

Best,

Leila

11 thoughts on “October Favorites!

  1. Love this post! What a great idea, I might have to start thinking of my favourites of each month too! It certainly makes you feel a lot more grateful for what you have. I’m in total agreement about juices and leaves. Massive Autumn fan here! I’m going to check out the lippy colours next time I’m in Target too! Thanks 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

