Hydrate and Donate Challenge

I was nominated by Valentina from My Vegan Valentine to complete the Hydrate and Donate Challenge! To complete this challenge, you must make your favorite vegan drink, get hydrated, and then choose a cruelty-free charity to donate to!

Though supporting research on deadly diseases such as breast cancer and ALS is a thoughtful gesture, it is important to know where your donation is going. You do not want to fund organizations that are conducting research on animals because these methods are cruel, inhumane, and produce results that are very rarely applicable to humans. (However, if you must donate to an organization that uses animals, please specify that you do not want your money to go towards animal testing.)

Today, I will be putting my snazzy new blender to use by whipping up one of my favorite drinks: a green smoothie! I will be adding:

  • 1 leaf of kale
  • 1 banana
  • 1/3 apple
  • 1 orange
  • Water

IMG_20141025_162332626_HDR

After combining my ingredients in the blender, I will allow it to run for 2-3 minutes, or until smooth. The first time I used this blender, I did not blend my smoothie long enough, so there were chunks of kale in it! πŸ˜›

IMG_20141025_162559171

I use this blender in my desk on my dorm room.Β  So convenient!

The best part about this blender is that it turns into a cup! Once you’re done blending, all you have to do is remove the blade and screw on the lid. It’s super convenient and perfect for people with on-the-go lifestyles.

Here is my beautiful green smoothie. Ready to hydrate! πŸ™‚

IMG_20141025_162923781

Now, onto the donation portion of this challenge:

The charity I am donating to is the American Tortoise Rescue! Many turtles and tortoises arrive to this shelter ill, deformed, or injured. My donation will help provide lifesaving medical services and veterinary care for rescued animals so the staff can provide them with a healthy and happy recovery.

turtle2

A wood turtle at the rescue named Woody. Just look at that big sparkly eye! *melts*

I had a lot of fun doing this challenge! I nominate anyone who would like to help make the world a better place to complete this challenge next!

Best,

Leila

10 thoughts on “Hydrate and Donate Challenge

  1. What a great charity!. Look at that beautiful face. We live near a large river surrounded by lakes and streams, so I see many turtles crossing the road. I always stop my car to move them to safety; there are even road signs “Turtle Xing” πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you for helping turtles! It is so important to help them cross roads safely. I once came across a lovely painted turtle on the side of the road while riding my bike and moved her to safety. They are such beautiful animals, so full of different colors and textures.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

