My Vegan Diary: Week 14

Today was my first time flyering! A pressing issue my university’s animal rights club has been working on is protecting the Michigan wolves. This afternoon, we handed out flyers on a street corner asking people to vote no on Proposals 1 and 2 in the upcoming election. If these proposals are passed, they will allow an indiscriminate wolf hunt in Michigan and remove the voter’s power to decide on important wildlife issues.

Michigan’s wolves were critically endangered until recently, and in 1989 the population was down to only 3. Wolves do not pose a threat to people. It is very rare that a person will come across one, and if one wanders onto property, they often flee when people yell to scare them away. So allowing people to indiscriminately hunt wolves is unnecessary, cruel, and destructive. If the second proposal is passed, the Natural Resources Commission could be given the power to add almost any protected animal to the list of game species to be hunted without consulting legislators or voters. So to promote awareness of this issue, the Michigan Animal Respect Society distributed these flyers:

IMG_20141024_145302379

Ā I enjoyed this experience very much. I have been wanting to go leafleting for a long time, so this made good practice! I felt shy about asking strangers passing by to take a flyer. If a passerby declined or ignored us, we laughed it off and did not take it personally. All of our efforts were made worthwhile when someone expressed interest, paused to have a conversation, or agreed to think of the wolves when voting. I will be looking forward to getting more involved in public outreach in the future!

And if you were interested in learning more about our club, you can visit the Michigan Animal Respect Society page on Facebook and “like” it to receive updates! I was appointed to Social Media Chair, so I will be posting there regularly. šŸ™‚

To learn more about the Michigan Wolves, look here.

Best,

Leila

11 thoughts on “My Vegan Diary: Week 14

  1. I was going to ask how people reacted to you guys. Sometimes people can be kind of nasty with topics like this because they don’t understand why they should care. That’s why it’s important that there are people like you who are willing to lend a voice to all of the earth’s creatures. It’s wonderful that you took the time to educate others and help protect the Michigan wolves.

    PS: I bought that Amy’s cheeseless pizza today and some mozz-style shreds so I can make it like you did in your post a few weeks ago. I’m so excited šŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your support! While flyering today, we did not get any rudeness or hate. The worst we experienced was people ignoring us or refusing the flyer. Most people were quite polite. I expect that when we leaflet about veganism, we will get some nasty comments, though.
      I am so happy you are trying out the vegan pizza! I loved the way it turned out, and I’m dying to make it again. The Daiya cheese is so delicious. After making the pizza, I used the remained over tortilla chips to make vegan nachos. They were amazing. šŸ™‚ I hope the pizza turns out super yummy! Thank you so much for your comment! šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

