Update on Bath and Body Works’ Animal Testing Policy

Several days ago, after hearing that Bath and Body Works has changed its animal testing policy to allow testing in countries that require it by law, I emailed the company. They responded by stating that “L Brands prohibits the testing of our branded products, formulations and ingredients on animals except in rare cases when required by government regulations.” This seems like a red flag that they are no longer a cruelty free brand.

I shared this information with the peta2 advisory board I am a member of. After one of the leaders consulted the PETA Corporate Affairs department, she reported that Bath & Body Works is required to use this language because their parent company also owns Victoria’s Secret, which sells in China and is not cruelty-free. Bath & Body Works has given PETA written assurances that they do not test on animals or sell their products in countries that require testing.

So whether you are willing to continue shopping at Bath and Body Works comes down to whether you are OK with indirectly supporting Victoria Secret, who is no longer cruelty free.

I hope you find this new information helpful!

Best,

Leila

8 thoughts on “Update on Bath and Body Works’ Animal Testing Policy

  1. I believe in supporting companies who do the right thing even when their “sister” companies do not. I am so relieved to find this out and am very grateful to you for doing the extra research! Thank you!

    Like

    • I am glad you enjoyed hearing this good news. I was super relieved, too! I don’t know what I could do without Bath and Body Works, haha. I also still support brands that are cruelty free even if their parent/sister companies aren’t, like NYX and Urban Decay. As long as I am not increasing demand for products that require animal testing to create, I’m happy. Thanks for checking out my post! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, interesting! So I think this means the policy really hasn’t changed, at least recently. Because I remember reading on Logical Harmony a while back that Bath and Body Works was cruelty free, but the parent company owns companies that are not. I think that’s been the case for a while, since Victoria’s Secret has been non-CF for a while also. The whole thing is very complicated.. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • You’re welcome! The whole parent/sister companies business really confuses me. It’s very complicated. I just tend to go by whether the company itself tests its products on animals. 🙂

      Like

      • That seems like a good rule of thumb! It’s really difficult to draw the line… especially considering even the store you’re buying from (e.g. buying a CF product from a Sephora store, which isn’t CF.) It’s almost impossible to be “perfectly cruelty-free.”

        Like

Leave a Reply

