My Vegan Diary: Week 12

speak the truth

This week, the difficulties of being an animal rights activists have been on my mind. Just like any human being, I naturally desire approval and acceptance. However, being part of a radical social movement that advocates for the rights of an oppressed minority will certainly be met with opposition. By standing up for animals, I must accept ridicule, disagreement, and even violent opposition and hatred.

I have always cared a great deal about what others think of me. Whenever I sense someone’s disapproval of me, my actions, or my ideas, I can never let the situation go! I constantly mull over what I should have said or done, replaying the scene over and over again in my head.

But I know that as I become more and more outspoken about animal rights, it will take an enormous toll on my well-being if IΒ  let other people’s opinions constantly get to me. Even particularly upsetting anti-vegan comments onΒ  YouTube videos or news articles keep me up at night. I can’t imagine what it would be like if those comments were directed at me.

Whenever I find myself getting caught up in other people’s opinions on my belief in animal equality, I always think of this to put what I do into perspective:

What do I care about more: the approval of a few people, or of billions of animals?

Obviously, saving the lives of billions of animals is worth infinitely more than the opinion of a few people. Truly, the lives I save when I speak out for animals are more important than anyone’s approval ever could be. Staying focused on the animals and remaining confident that compassion, nonviolence, and justice will prevail is the strongest motivation an animal rights activist can have.

winI must never forget who I am fighting for!

less violent world

How do you stay motivated to speak out for animals’ rights? I would love to know!

Best,

Leila

6 thoughts on “My Vegan Diary: Week 12

  1. The good news is you can have your cake and eat it too. You can fight for animals and have the approval of others. There will always be haters, but those aren’t people you want to be friends with anyway. With everyone else, it’s all in knowing what to say.

    In many cases, and you might have experienced this already, people will do half the work for you and ask why you decided to become a vegan. Then you just have to explain. When people say things like, “Oh, I could never do that”, ask them what they think would be hardest for them, and then present alternatives.

    In most cases their reasoning is going to be that they would have to give up their favorite foods, which is an easy fix as you know. No one in their right mind is going to say that they don’t care about the animals. Most people do care, but either don’t know much about it or don’t know what to do. Some people think veganism is something they’d like to try, but are afraid of the ridicule they’d face. Knowing they’re not alone can be a big step in the right direction for them.

    Hope this helps πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you so much for this thoughtful comment! Your encouragement seriously means so much to me, it made my day! πŸ™‚ You are right that most people will not react to veganism in a judgmental way, and may even be interested in what it’s all about. I like your idea of asking people what they think would be hardest for them if they went vegan. I never really know what to say when people tell me being vegan would be too hard, because it is not! Your advice is so helpful, than you so much! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I understand wanting to please people and stuff. I’m that way too. Just remember they may not be saying nice things to you, but imagine what the animals you are saving would say to you if they could. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

