My Vegan Diary: Week 10

IMG_20140919_152749240

HAPPY HUG A VEGAN DAY! ❤ 🙂 ❤ Sending virtual hugs to all of you today!

Wishing I could hug my favorite little vegan:

IMG_20140825_155451398

I have been giving and receiving lots of hugs this afternoon. I even saw a group of people in the middle of campus with “Free Hugs” signs! After classes, I went to a local grocery store and picked up a box of Tofutti Cuties to share with the girls in my hallway. Everyone has been enjoying how adorable they are. Someone even said they tasted better than dairy ice cream! No one can tell the difference between dairy ice cream and vegan ice cream, but the cows sure can! ❤

IMG_20140926_150025353

But what’s Hug A Vegan Day all about anyways? When I first heard about it, I wondered about its power as an animal rights activism campaign. But after giving it some thought, I realized that it has a great ability to spread awareness of veganism. It shows that vegans are friendly, compassionate, kind, and hugable, not hateful, judgmental, isolated or uptight. It allows the vegan message into people’s minds in a light-hearted manner. Sometimes, a friendly hug and a conversation can change people’s hearts more than watching a graphic video about where meat comes from. Showing the world how friendly and happy vegans are can make a powerful effect on others.

So hug a vegan today, for all they do for the animals, planet, and people! 🙂

Best,

Leila

Leave a Reply

