My Vegan Diary: Week 6

burden

I completed my first six weeks as a vegan! If I was in Vegucated, I would have completed the challenge, haha! πŸ˜€

This week, I moved into college! Eating vegan at the dining hall has been a bit annoying, but it could be worse. My dining hall has quite a few good vegan options. It just takes some searching. Every meal requires ten or more minutes of wandering around the dining hall looking for something to eat. I hope that once I become familiarized with my dining hall, I will be able to find food more quickly. Today, I had a less-than-optimal eating experience. I had an all-day event for Honors College, so breakfast and lunch were catered. Unfortunately, the vegan options were scant.

Being a vegan in an omnivore’s world is not easy. It takes extra effort and sacrifice. (I know you can’t sacrifice something that wasn’t yours in the first place, but do you get what I mean?) I never want being vegan to feel like a burden. I don’t want to feel annoyed by asking servers whether something is vegan or by reading signs and labels. I don’t want to feel left out when I can’t join people to eat something. Instead, I want to feel free and liberated from an existence that inflicted pain, suffering, and death upon innocent beings. I hope that I never become discouraged and disappointed about being vegan. Because the unimaginable suffering farm animals experience is not even comparable to my inconvenience in the dining hall. I am fighting for animal liberation. This should be responsibility I am proud to carry.

But soon, it will get easier. I recently joined my university’s Animal Respect Society. I can’t wait to begin meeting other vegans. I have so many ideas! I want to go leafleting, volunteer at a local farm animal sanctuary, and organize protests. Right now, I am alone among omnivores. But with the support from other vegans, I would feel stronger and gain confidence in my lifestyle. Because deep down, everyone knows that subjecting innocent, harmless, and helpless animals to a life of cruel torture and death is wrong. It’s just a matter ofΒ doing something about it instead of standing by.

Best,

Leila

8 thoughts on “My Vegan Diary: Week 6

  1. YGG! You got it. Find those other greenies.
    other option just make some bomb vegan cookies (idk if you have a kitchen in your room/dorm, but from what I’ve heard most dorms have one or the other) and share them with the world. THEN you get a bunch of new friends (because hello is there any other way to make friends?) and it’s a fun food activity for everyone. Plus maybe someone will discover that vegan cookies are actually the best thing in the entire world and they have been missing out their entire lives and convert. (My two plans so far for making college friends is that + bringing henna – clever clever)
    http://www.dailyrebecca.com/2013/03/the-best-vegan-chocolate-chip-cookies/
    That’s my cookie suggestion. I just made those for myself for my own college road trip and half of them are gone already. They are so so so so so so so so so so good!!! (If you have the correct amount of flour and chocolate chips, which I did not on the first try)
    Love, Tori

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your thoughtful advice! I actually planned on making the vegan chocolate chip cookies with that same recipe before I left for college but ran out of time. Maybe I will try to find a kitchen to make them in soon! If that doesn’t work out, I guess I’ll just resort to store bought :P. Thank you so much!

      Like

  2. Wow thats such an achievement! I may go vegan when I’m older, but it would be a bit harder for me as I’m allergic to nuts and gluten, so my food options would be narrowed down a lot more.

    Like

    • I understand how your allergies would make it harder to be vegan. A huge amount of vegan products are soy-based, though. Maybe try vegetarian or partially vegan and find where you are comfortable? Good luck, and thanks for checking out my post! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats – that’s awesome! Meeting others who have similar values will be super helpful (it was for me, anyway). And just wait until you get to a vegan restaurant – I’m so used to finding a couple of options that *might* be able to be veganized, that when I encounter a menu with multiple foods I can eat, I get almost paralyzed (with joy). Hope the semester is treating you well!

    Like

    • Thank you for your support! I am lucky enough to be living within walking distance of a couple of restaurants with all vegan menus. It feels like such a luxury to be able to order anything I want! Thanks for checking out my post! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

