Vegan Food Diary

After a long afternoon of driving, we made it to my college campus! We are staying overnight in a hotel, and tomorrow I move in. So as a last dinner with my family, we ate at a local vegan restaurant called Jazzy Veggie. I will admit that the super cute name drew me in! The atmosphere was relaxing and welcoming. If the weather had been drier, it would have been very pleasant to eat at the street side seating. Maybe next time! Best of all, the entire menu is vegan, which feels like a luxury!

My sister and I shared this bottle of delicious Pineapple Peach Limeade. It was sweet and tangy. The lime gave it a very flavorful twist.

IMG_20140826_193414284

My family and I shared a plate of veggie pot stickers as an appetizer. They came covered with a sweet and spicy chili sauce, which was delicious! We ended up also eating the lettuce the pot stickers came on with this sauce like a salad!

IMG_20140826_193404462

For my entree, I enjoyed a bowl of pasta with pesto, cashew cheese, zucchini, sun-dried tomatoes, and artichoke. I ordered this dish because I was interested in trying cashew cheese. The sauce was very smooth, creamy, and flavorful. I had never tried artichoke before. It was rather tasteless with a soft texture. Overall an amazing pasta dish!

IMG_20140826_193659775

While walking around town later during the evening, we spotted a frozen yogurt shop conveniently displaying this sign in the window.

IMG_20140826_202603255

Need I say more?

The only vegan option they carried was coconut. It was very thick and creamy. Not at all watery! It also had a rich coconut flavor. I topped mine with strawberries, blueberries, pineapple, mango, and almonds. Yummy! ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_20140826_201820537

IMG_20140826_201809435

That was my evening! Definitely a very delicious one!ย  It was nice spending some last moments with my family while unwinding from the long drive. Why am I going to college so far away? But I am in love with my college town. So many fun places to explore! And lots of food to eat, as you can see… ๐Ÿ˜› Yum yum!

Best,

Leila

7 thoughts on “Vegan Food Diary

  1. Oh I’m so jealous of you for living in an area that is vegan friendly. I can’t even begin to tell you how few options there are here, and it’s so frustrating. Going out with friends either entails salad or fries (if they’re not fried in beef tallow), or begging to go to a vegan place. Not that I need to beg my friends, they are understanding of my lifestyle.
    That food looks amazing. Can I ask where you are attending school? Or would you rather keep that a secret (which I totally understand if you do!)?

    Like

    • I’m glad you enjoyed my post! I am sorry that there are few vegan friendly restaurants in your area! Eating just fries and salads all of the time seems like it could get boring. I guess it’s incentive to sharpen your cooking skills, haha! And I am attending the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • I do cook all the time, just wish there were more options for going out. My vegan buffalo dip is the hit of every party, though, and I make a pretty kick-butt cashew “cream” sauce. I love discovering new alternatives for vegan cooking. Everything can be made vegan, and most of the time the flavor is close to or identical to the non-vegan version. Do you use a lot of the vegan “meats” in your cooking?

        Like

Leave a Reply

