I am Straight Edge!

straight edg

In two days, I will be headed to college, and the Welcome Week festivities will commence…aka lots of alcohol, drugs, and partying. I know that not everyone will be engaging in these activities, but as I am attending a large state school, sports and partying are a huge part of the culture. Before I went vegan, the power of substance to transport me away from my stress and worries interested me. But once I stopped eating animal products, I felt a surge of power and control over my life. I am living freely and independently. My life and nourishment no longer depend upon the suffering and death of other individuals. Why would I want substance to take that power away from me? I always want to have full control over my body, mind, and actions.

Now, I have no interest in putting any chemicals into my body. I don’t need them to be feel free and happy. People fill their bodies with flesh tainted with pain and misery, and when they feel miserable, too, they try to heal their own pain by putting more noxious and vile chemicals inside of them. I recognize that chemicals don’t have the power to solve my problems. I never want to live for the next shot of alcohol to kill my pain or for the next joint to bring me monetary relief. I will not allow my body to become a puppet. I will NEVER be slave for substance.

Now that my body and spirit are filled with compassion, polluting it with chemicals would be slander. When I come to a difficult time in my life, I don’t want substance to ever be an option. So I have taken the promise to live purely and truly. I have decided to live Straight Edge. This means no alcohol, drugs, cigarettes, or emotionless sex. I will also use caffeine and medical drugs sparingly so they cannot control me, either.

So next week when the Welcome Week parties are in full force, I will be elsewhere. I will still make friends, be social, and have a good time. But I will be awake, alert, and healthy while living life to its fullest.

straight edge

So with this X on my hand, I pledge to live a life of positivity, purity, and growth. To only feed my body with life-bearing substances, not those tainted with poison, suffering, and death. It will not be easy. But my well-being and future are worth it.

Best,

Leila

16 thoughts on “I am Straight Edge!

  1. I admire you for choosing to live a drug-free life. I’m sXe too, well, 99% of the time, so I can relate very well to this post. It’s very similar to something I wrote 15 years ago in a journal.

    I’ve been this way for so many years now, and it really is amazing how being vegan/sXe can really turn some people off. I don’t care, since the people it tends to bother aren’t the kind of people I want to associate with anyway. Best wishes!

    Like

  2. I really admire your dedication. Just remember, you’re choosing to live your life in one way to be happy; make sure that that lifestyle doesn’t end up making you unhappy, and if it does, you are free to change your mind judgment-free. You already seem to have a handle on your priorities, so you do you!

    Like

    • Thank you for your support! I know my lifestyle can appear restrictive, but there are still plenty of things I can enjoy. Vegan sweets are made of the happiest stuff on earth! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Reblogged this on XCLUSIVX DIY fanzine: Hardcore. Veganism. Politics. and commented:
    “When I come to a difficult time in my life, I don’t want substance to ever be an option. So I have taken the promise to live purely and truly. I have decided to live Straight Edge. This means no alcohol, drugs, cigarettes, or emotionless sex. I will also use caffeine and medical drugs sparingly so they cannot control me, either.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

