The Frustrations of Vegan Makeup Shopping

frustrated bunny

This post was supposed to be a really fun beauty haul. Instead, I will be sharing the story of how I learned that cruelty free ≠ vegan the hard way.

So there I was, a makeup addict in her natural habitat, frolicking through the aisles of my local Ulta in search of some compassionate makeup. After much deliberation, I finally picked out some products from NYX. Being the naive little vegan I was, I looked no further than the reassuring cruelty-free bunny stamped on the products.

IMG_1373

“Yes! The stamp of cruelty-free approval! I’m set!” Clutching a tube of mascara and an eyeliner, I headed to the checkout counter with confidence, feeling amazing about my new purchases.

Later, I began reading the ingredients lists on each product, and to my horror, both contained beeswax. I felt horrible! How could I make this mistake? I had completely forgotten that just because a product is cruelty-free, doesn’t mean it is vegan!  From now on, I will have to make a habit of reading the ingredients lists on my makeup, too, not just my food.

The Accused

???????????????????????????????

The Evidence

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

The only difficult part about going vegan for me has been transitioning my beauty routine. So many products are either tested on animals or contain animal products, it’s ridiculous! Honestly, it feels  impossible to do my makeup shopping conveniently anymore. There are so many traps to fall into, it’s a minefield!  Just picking out a new mascara takes so much label-reading and research. I love being vegan, but my makeup collection does not.

Here is the rest of my sad little haul.

Mineral facial powder from Physician’s Formula

???????????????????????????????

This powder was more expensive than I’d like ($11). Physician’s Formula is a rather pricy drugstore brand.

Benefit Boi-ing Concealer and Eyebright Compact

???????????????????????????????

This has been my favorite concealer for the past year. When I first went cruelty-free, I looked up their animal testing policy and fell prey to this oversight: “We do not test our products on animals nor do we permit others to do so…” Sound’s great! But not so fast! They go on to say: “…except where it is required by law.” Meaning they sell their products in China. This is really sad news. 😥

Eco-Tools brushes

???????????????????????????????

Let’s end this post on a happy note. These brushes are soft and amazing, perfectly affordable, and completely vegan too. I highly recommend them! 🙂

Your vegan makeup suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Hopefully, I will find some nice vegan makeup soon, or else I will have to begin making my cosmetics out of vegetables…

31 thoughts on “The Frustrations of Vegan Makeup Shopping

  1. tatesfashion says:

    Too Faced and Urban Decay have some vegan choices 🙂 but you have to still be careful with vegan make-up because it can contain a lot of potentially harmful synthetic ingredients. X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your recommendations! Urban Decay and Too Faced are amazing brands, but a bit pricy. Most brands that do not test on animals use natural ingredients, but I will be careful. 🙂

      Like

  2. The picture and title of this post is seriously too cute. I love how you get it – sometimes it’s so hard to stay 100% vegan. I love that Tarte has some options and the drugstore ones you included are nice as well (I love those brushes!). Anyway have you ever looked into the “Yes to” brand? I don’t know if they’re 100% vegan but they’re suuper natural and effective. Good luck shopping!

    Like

    • Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed this post! I have never purchased anything from Tarte, so maybe I will look into their products soon. I have heard of Yes To brand. I thought they only carried facial products, but I will check them out too. Thanks so much! 🙂

      Like

      • You’re very welcome!! Tarte is one of my alll time favorites (they frequent my blog and thoughts haha) but they have that little bunny sticker on all of their products and keep things very accessible to those who are looking for those kinds of details.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. V says:

    That’s so hard! I’m cruelty-free and I find that difficult. Going completely vegan with makeup would be a challenge. Good luck to you 😀

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your support! It is a bit of a challenge, but avoiding all forms of animal exploitation is something I feel strongly about, so the extra hassle is worth it. 🙂 Thanks for checking out my post!

      Like

  4. some of my fav(and cheap) products are frm e.l.f.(eyes,lips,face) have you tried them? They can be found at target or walmart and range from $2-$6. They dont test and use vegan ingredients! ☺️ I have their flawless finish foundation and mascara. I also use pacifica,which can also be found at walmart or target and are decently priced.They also dont test and are vegan,products range from nail polish to eyeliner. Tarte is also a great brand but much pricier,not all their products are vegan but they have a great selection. I also use lipstick from manic panic or limecrime,great but run $12-$18. Obsessive Complusive Cosmetics is another great vegan line with foundation,lipstick and nail polish. I love my makeup so I have done alot of research in this area lol

    Like

    • I can’t thank you enough for all of these amazing recommendations! I would be interested in trying e.l.f and pacifica. It is reassuring to know that these drugstore brands are vegan and cruelty free. Thank you! 🙂

      Like

  5. Urban Decay is cruelty free, and on their website, they have a vegan section. The products are marked with a little doggie paw.

    Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics is also completely vegan.

    As someone else mentioned, a lot of indie brands are vegan. Pretty sure Fyrinnae is vegan! Sugarpill also marks which products are vegan.

    Hope this helps!

    Like

  6. Oh, forgot to mention: if you don’t already follow My Beauty Bunny or Phyrra, I highly recommend their blogs. They’re my go-to resources for cruelty-free brands, and they’ll always note if the brands are vegan, as well.

    Like

  7. I find it difficult, too. I use the Leaping Bunny guide as a reference for cosmetics. There are different levels of “cruelty-free”, from no animal source to not tested and this on a scale of the company you are buying from or their own sources.

    It seems that LB focus more on testing than on animal source, but they provide a long list of companies one can then research:

    http://www.leapingbunny.org/

    Like

  8. I’m about to load up on make-up before I head off to college in a month, so I did a ton (some) of googling to find a good brand – http://www.100percentpure.com/
    It’s totally organic, cruelty free and vegan! The make up is dyed with fruit and other nonsense, the only thing is that they more or less only have stores on the west coast. Lucky for me most of them are right smack dab where I’m going to be at college, but you can order online too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

