My Blogging Advice

I have received some inquiries about how I grew an audience for my blog. So I decided to share my blogging tips with all of you. I hope they are helpful! 🙂 
 
1. Post regularly

When you start out your blog, you want to put out as much content as you can in order to establish yourself. I recommend posting at least 2-3 times per week while your blog is getting off the ground. This way, when people visit your blog, they will be more likely to find an interesting post that will pull them in.

2. Engage with the Blogging Community

In order to attract people to your blog, you need to visit theirs first. This can be as simple as liking posts on topics similar to what you blog about, commenting, and following other blogs. If you are feeling bold, ask bloggers if you would like to agree to follow each other. Most of the time, they will agree.

3. Tags

Tagging is important, as it helps bloggers to find content related to a topic of interest. Oftentimes, I read posts by searching for a tag, such as “makeup” or “vegan.” By giving your posts 3-7 descriptive tags, bloggers will be able to find your posts easier.

4. Variety

Blogging about a variety of related topics will help you reach a larger audience. If you only blog about one specific topic, fewer people will be interested in your blog. This also goes along with tagging, as having a variety of different tags will attract the attention of many different bloggers.

 5. Connect with your readers

This is an important tip for maintaining your readership. By interacting with your readers in the comments, you will gain their trust in you and your recommendations. In turn, your readers may give you a shout out on their page or reblog your posts, which will draw in more readers. Award nominations help to promote your blog as well, so if you receive one, I recommend participating.

6. More pictures, less words

Although this format will not work for every post you write, it is generally a good idea to stagger blurbs of text with pictures and avoid huge chunks of text. This will keep readers interested in your post.

7. Personality

Let your personality, passion, and humor show through. Readers will be much more drawn to your blog if there is a unique person behind it. Don’t feel the need to be overly serious or formal in your language. Keep your posts professional, yet laid back and personal.

8. Write with your audience in mind

Make your blog a conversation, not a speech. In your posts, ask readers to share their advice or ask them a question in order to engage them. Take their suggestions for future posts and thank them for their readership. If your readers become a part of your blog, they will be much more likely to stick around.

9. Quality
This tip speaks for itself. What you put into your blog is what you will get out of it. Customize your page nicely. Brainstorm and plan out your posts before writing them. Make sure your posts are well written and are free of grammatical mistakes.
 
That’s it! I hope these tips help you out. If you have any further questions, let me know! 🙂
Best,
Leila
36 thoughts on “My Blogging Advice

  1. Brilliant post! I’m just starting out too and I agree with everything you said. I actually got a book from the library about successful blogging and it said the opposite of writing variety; to only write on one subject, but that makes no sense to me!

    Like

    • Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed these tips! I suppose some people may be able to make a strong blog that focuses on a single topic, but everyone has a variety of interests, so why only blog about one of them?

      Like

      • Thank you so much! It means a lot to me that you enjoy my blog. Going vegan is one of the best decisions I have ever made, and my only regret is that I didn’t do it sooner. So I encourage you to give it a try, even if it is just for a couple days of the week at first. it is easier than it seems! And I’d love to help you with any questions or concerns you have. 🙂

        Like

      • I suggest first learning about how eggs are obtained. Knowledge will give you the power to remove them from your life. Second, learn to cook new things. Tofu can be used to make scrambles and omelets. You can make a vegan version of any baked item, so just look for new recipes and experiment with different egg substitutions in your baking. Cooking vegan opens the doors to a world of tasty foods that many omnivores never try. The only thing you have to give up is cruelty! 🙂

        Like

  2. Great advice and very relevant and useful tips for new bloggers! Like you I let my blog have a wide variety and I’m happy with that, but a lot of bloggers will say to keep it in a niche market to attract the same people back. I’m with you tho…I wan’t to talk about everything and engage with as many readers as I can!

    Like

    • Thank you! If you have the ability to post high quality content about a variety of topics, I see no reason why you should limit your blog to just one! Glad these tips helped you 🙂

      Like

  3. meanjeanmakeup says:

    I’m happy I stumbled upon these because I just started a blog and its quite a task. i find that consistency is hard for me. do you schedule posts in advance? how do you find the time to post three times a week?

    Like

    • I typically plan out the week’s posts beforehand but write them on the day or day before I plan to post them. Blogging is a large time commitment. Overall, the quality and effort you put into each post is more important than the quantity. So try to post regularly, but don’t rush yourself and post mediocre work quickly. So find what is best for you, whether that be one post a week or 3, and stick to that schedule. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

