Vegan Food Diary

Yesterday, I attended a local Veggie Fest. It was very hot, noisy, and crowded, but all of the yummy vegan food I ate made up for it! I also sampled many interesting tidbits such as hemp seeds, dark chocolate covered pineapple, and pizza flavored kale chips. This was my first time eating out as a vegan. It felt a bit strange constantly asking people whether their food was vegan! I have to be more careful to not assume it is, because I accidentally sampled a protein bar that contained honey in it! πŸ˜› I’m sorry bees, I love you!

I apologize for my sub-par food photography. I got so excited about my yum-yums, that I ate them before remembering to take a quality photo!

Onto the food:

Let’s first talk about this delicious piece of vegan sausage pizza. Do you see this beautiful slice of pizza goodness? To everyone who claims that vegan food tastes like tree bark: your argument is invalid.

017And then I received this free coconut ice cream sandwich from So Delicious. It really was so delicious!

018It was a hot and sunny day so I had to get a tropical fruit smoothie! In addition to being fruity and sweet, it was reassuring to know that none of my friends’ stolen milk was in it! Unfortunately, by the time I remembered to take its picture, it was melted and spent after a long walk back to the car. 😦 I promise it was better than it looks in this picture!

021And of course, I had to get my peanut butter fix! There was a vendor selling Peanut Butter & Co products. Jars of creamy and smooth peanut butter are difficult to resist, especially when they are free of hydrogenated oils and certified vegan! I will be stashing away these jars of goodness in my dorm room this fall!

022I also had a raw vegan “cheesecake”, but I completely forgot to take a picture of that little cutie before I ate it. 😦 Oops!

That’s it! I hope you enjoyed my first vegan food diary, despite my mediocre photography. I will do better next time, I promise! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Best,

Leila

16 thoughts on “Vegan Food Diary

    • If you are vegan for the right reasons, it should not be difficult. Research the egg, dairy, and meat industries. Some good places to start: PETA.com and documentaries such as Vegucated, Forks over Knives, and Food, Inc, which are all available on Netflix. Knowledge is power, so learn all you can and you will have the strength to eliminate animal products from your life. Best of luck to you! πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. Erin Dempsey says:

    I’ve gone back and forth between veganism twice, and pizza is the one thing I just can’t live without – this one looks delicious though! Did they use imitation cheese, or just load it up with other toppings? Your whole day looks delicious!!

    Like

  2. marymcfadden93 says:

    That coconut ice cream sandwich looks deadly!
    I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award! If you have over 200 followers you can just ignore this but check out my blog for details πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

