My Essential Makeup Brushes

???????????????????????????????I truly believe that your makeup only turns out as good as your brushes. So the tools you choose are important! As I have recently replaced my brushes with cruelty free, vegan ones, I will be sharing my brush collection in this post.

Two excellent cruelty free brush brands are Ecotools and Elf. I know people can be a bit apprehensive of Elf brushes, especially since they are quite cheap, but the ones I own work very well. They do not have the same longevity as the pricier brushes, but they definitely outperform their price. Ecotools brushes have the softest bristles and great blending capability! I am very impressed with them so far.

Eye Brushes

The following eye brushes came from the Eye Enhancing Duo Set from Ecotools. I like this set because each brush is double sided, expediting the makeup application process. The bristles are soft and pick up enough product. They also blend the shadows very smoothly.

Shader Brush

???????????????????????????????

I use this brush to apply an all-over-the-lid shade. It is fluffy and applies the shadow smoothly and evenly.

Defining brush

020

This versatile brush can be used for lining the lashes with gel liner or a dark eyeshadow, lining the lower lashline, and defining the outer V.

Smudging Brush

???????????????????????????????

This brush can be used to diffuse pencil liner on either the upper or lower lashline with back and forth motions. For the lower lashline, dot the liner at the base of the lashes in the outer corner and blend. For the upper lashline, line as close to the base of the lashes as possible and then diffuse. This brush can also be used to blend eyeshadow into the lower lashline or define the outer V of the eye.

Blending brush

???????????????????????????????

A good blending brush is a must, as blending is the most important step to achieving beautiful eye looks. This blending brush is fluffy and soft. My crease brush that had been made from animal hair was rough and the hairs were almost sharp on my skin.Β  This brush is much more comfortable in the crease. I use this brush to blend transition shades into the crease with windshield wiper motions. I also blend darker shades into the outer corner with circular motions.

The following brushes came from Elf.

Small Angled Brush

???????????????????????????????

I use this brush to fill in my eyebrows with powder. It gives the brows a natural finish, and at the same time is precise and exact.

Defining Eye Brush

???????????????????????????????

This brush is useful for defining the outer V and applying shadow on the lower lashline. I have had it for two years now and the hairs are beginning to fall out. But for a $1 brush, I must say that it has exceeded expectations!

Lash and Brow Combs from Sonia Kashuk

???????????????????????????????

I use the brush side to the right to comb through my brows prior to filling them in.Β  It helps to tame the brows so it is easier to follow their natural shape with a brow pencil or powder. The left side can be used to comb through and separate the lashes to give a more defined look.

Face Brushes

Custom Coverage Buffing Brush

???????????????????????????????

I purchased this brush from Ecotools for the purpose of applying facial powder, contouring, applying brush, and hilighting.Β  I like a denser brush with shorter bristles in order to allow me to more precisely apply bronzer into the hollows of my cheekbones. It is also incredibly soft!

Facial Sponge

???????????????????????????????

This not a brush, but this sponge from Up and Up has become a staple in my makeup routine. I did not want to invest in a beauty blender, but I found that this sponge from Target works just as well. I use it to apply foundation and blend out concealer. The pointed end is perfect for blending out the under eye area and spot treating blemishes.

That’s all of my tools! I hope this post was helpful!

Best,

Leila

26 thoughts on “My Essential Makeup Brushes

    • Awesome! It works really well, but is only a fraction of the price of the Beauty Blender. It’s definitely worth a try! I would love to know how it works out for you! πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. Real Techniques brushes are apparently 100% cruelty free too! Not sure about if they’re vegan or not, but I believe that the entire line of brushes are synthetic. Just curious here – what makes a brush vegan exactly? I would love to know πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks for your recommendation! A brush is vegan if the bristles are 100% synthetic. Nonvegan sources of bristles include goat and pony hairs. Many nonvegan brush companies claim to be “cruelty free,” as cutting off the hair is painless, but these animals are most likely destined to be slaughtered for meat. So in my eyes, only vegan brushes are cruelty free.

      Like

    • I am glad you found this post helpful! πŸ™‚ It is definitely possible to obtain high quality brushes on a budget! Both Ecotools and Elf are highly affordable. It is definitely unnecessary to resort to high end brushes.

      Like

  2. thehealthmakeover says:

    Ooh I can’t wait to get rid of my MAC brushes and replace them with Ecotools brushes! So many things to get rid of and re-purchase though, do you ever feel overwhelmed? I’m seeing it as a positive change, just a little pricey! In the process of getting rid of all my leather shoes and bags at the moment πŸ™‚

    Like

    • It is overwhelming at first when you realize how many of the things you use on a daily basis harmed animals in their making, but the options are reassuring. All of the cruelty free soaps and brushes I’ve repurchased have been much cheaper than the products I had been using before. You don’t have to replace everything at once, just focus on the necessities. And the feeling of liberation when your life no longer causes pain and suffering to another is priceless.

      Like

    • Ecotools brushes are definitely worth a try. They’re quite inexpensive, high quality, and cruelty free! πŸ™‚ If you pick up any of the ones I have recommended, I would love to know how they turn out for you! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. bouhte says:

    Also got the ecotools ones, love them so much !
    Thanks for loving my blog post, kisses from france, hope to see u soon in my blog !
    Bouhte

    Like

Leave a Reply

