College Dorm Haul

???????????????????????????????As August begins, it is time for me to prepare for the next chapter of my life: College! Soon, I will be moving into my dorm and beginning my classes alongside thousands of new people in a brand new setting. The thought of this is both exhilarating and frightening. Though this will be my fourth year living in a dorm, I am still nervous about living in an entirely new environment!

Today, I did some shopping for my dorm room, so I thought I would share what I got. Hopefully this haul will help anyone else who is moving into an apartment or dorm soon!

Desk Lamp

010

Most dorm rooms do not provide adequate lighting, so a desk lamp or floor lamp is a must for college students. They are especially useful for late night study sessions while your roommate is sleeping! Mine also includes an organizer that will hold bits like paperclips and electronics, which is quite handy.

Shower Caddy

???????????????????????????????

These are especially useful if your dorm have a community bathroom.Β  Mine separates into two. I plan on using the smaller clear caddy to store the items I would use in the morning (toothbrush, toothpaste, contacts, etc.) so I can grab what I need quickly and get ready faster.

Laundry Bag

???????????????????????????????

If you are attending college far from home, you may have to *gulp* do your own laundry! A laundry bag will help you keep all of your dirty clothes contained between washes so they will not litter your floor and annoy your roommate!

Sheets

???????????????????????????????

You will need to bring your own linen, blankets, and pillows to college. Don’t forget! I also recommend bringing a mattress pad, as some schools have rather old and uncomfortable mattresses. My college has twin extra long mattresses, so be sure to check what size sheets you need!

Towels

???????????????????????????????

This is an important item you don’t want to forget! Since towels take up a lot of space in a washing machine, you will not always be able to fit your towel into your laundry load. I recommend buying two so you have an extraΒ  clean and dry one for those weeks when you cannot get around to washing your towel.

Suitcase

???????????????????????????????

If you are attending college far from home like I am, you will need a suitcase for traveling for breaks and holidays. I recommend a medium sized one so it is not too heavy to lift into an overhead bin, but spacious enough to hold everything you need for a holiday at home.

Fold Up Chair

???????????????????????????????

This isn’t an absolute necessity, but I have been wanting one of these in my dorm room for a long time. These chairs are super comfy and soft. Most dorm chairs are made of uncomfortable wood or plastic, so a plush one like this will instantly make your room a bit more homey.Β  I like that it folds up so you can conserve space if you have a tiny dorm room.

That’s all! If you are moving into a dorm soon, too, I hope this haul gave you some insight! College is getting more real for me day by day! It’s hard to believe I will be all moved in in less than a month. I’m hoping it’s true that life begins at the end of your comfort zone! πŸ™‚

Best,

Leila

15 thoughts on “College Dorm Haul

  1. Good luck in college! You’ll be fine, it just takes a little adjusting. πŸ™‚ I’m starting my sophomore year of college in just a couple weeks! Also I love the teal & blue colors you chose, that’s one of the colors in the color scheme for my dorm too! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I had a similar chair in my dorm last year, and all of my friends absolutely loved it! Nice haul, and good luck with college! I had a wonderful time my freshman year, and I’m really looking forward to going back in a few weeks! I’m sure you’ll like college just fine (plus you already seem pretty prepared for your dorm). πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I enjoyed reading your post! I’m starting my senior year, and (cliche time) I literally feel like it was just yesterday that I was buying all of my things for starting college! Those command hooks seriously saved my life! For decor, for hanging towels, whatever! Good luck! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

