July Favorites

???????????????????????????????

As July comes to a close, it is time for me to share the things I have been enjoying most. It as been a long month, but it is still hard to believe that August is already here! This will be an exciting month for me as I am preparing to move into college.

Highlights

July was rather uneventful, but I did get the chance to attend Vans Warped Tour! I had an amazing time. All of the bands we listened to were great. And did I mention that I met Ariel from Icon for Hire? *mini heart attack*

034

And of course, this has been my first month vegan. My decision to go vegan and live a cruelty-free lifestyle is by far the event I am most proud of this month.

016

Beauty

I haven’t worn much makeup during the month of July. But when I did, two products I consistently reached for were the Wet n Wild “Walking on Eggshells” palette and the Stila Stay All Day Liquid Eyeliner.  The quality of the eyeshadow is amazing for its low price, and the eyeliner is completely budge proof.

This month, I began using the Not Your Mother’s beach spray and hair cream.  I had been meaning to give these products a try for over a year, but never got around to it. I am so happy I finally picked them up! They give my hair amazing volume and texture, and smell great too.

???????????????????????????????

Fashion

This month, I picked up a new pair of Bobs (knockoff Toms from Sketchers) and have been extremely pleased with them.  This pair has a sturdy sole and a memory foam cushion. They’re super comfortable and easy to slip on. Plus, for each pair purchased they donate a pair to a child in need.  I know these shoes will be a favorite of mine for the months to come!

???????????????????????????????

Music

This month, I discovered an amazing indie band I somehow had never heard before. They are a band of two called Dresses. I have been enjoying their album Sun Shy, which came out in 2013. I find this album very relaxing and I love the beautiful harmonies and whimsical lyrics. If you have never heard their music before, I recommend the song Sun Shy, as well as the entire album!

sun shy

Food

Since this is my first month vegan, I have been trying lots of new foods!  One of my favorites is Edamame. These soybeans come frozen in a bag at the supermarket, though I store mine in the fridge. I just boil them for 3 minutes and snack on them while they’re still warm. They can be topped with salt or spices, but I prefer them plain. I have also been enjoying green apples with peanut butter. I was always skeptical of putting peanut butter on apples, but after I tried it, I understood!  The tart apple pairs perfectly with the sweet and salty peanut butter.

???????????????????????????????

Books/Movies

I have been trying to learn as much as I can about veganism and the animal industry this month. A notable documentary I watched was Vegucated. It follows three ordinary people taking on the challenge of going vegan for six weeks. It gives a comprehensive view of what veganism is and motivation for going vegan, but is more entertaining than most documentaries on the topic. It is overall very funny and engaging and I recommend it to anyone curious about veganism. It is available on Netflix.

vegucated

That’s all of my favorites this  month! Hope you all had a great July. I would love to know your favorites too! Feel free to let me know what you have been enjoying this month. Happy August!

Best,

Leila

5 thoughts on “July Favorites

Leave a Reply

