My Vegan Diary: Week 1

016One week ago, I was pacing around my room at 12:30 at night, nervous about telling my family about my decision to go vegan. Fearing their reaction to my lifestyle change, I typed a note that I planned on leaving for them to read in the morning, but I was getting cold feet. Finally, I built up the strength to leave the note on the kitchen table and return to bed, where I tossed and turned all night.

Now, one week later, I feel powerful strength and confidence in my decision to go vegan and live a cruelty free lifestyle. I experience no cravings or feelings of loss, only regret for hiding from the truth and not making this decision sooner.

Welcome to my Vegan Diary! Every Friday of my first year of being vegan, I will reflect upon my week, complete with its victories, struggles, emotions, and experiences. Unlike my usual posts, my Vegan Diary will be full of my personal ideas, which I do not expect everyone to agree with. That’s OK. But I hope this diary will serve as a resource for those considering becoming vegan or are already vegan.

So let’s start by addressing the obvious question: Why did I choose to go vegan?

The ideals of veganism were first introduced to me by Alissa White-Gluz six months ago, when I began listening to her music from The Agonist. (If you have been following my blog for awhile, you may be aware of my obsession with her current band Arch Enemy.) She is an amazing role model to me. I admire her how she puts 100% into everything she does. In addition to being a talented artist, she is dedicated to animal rights activism and has been vegan for 16 years.

I know metal isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, so I won’t force you to listen to her music. But check out this video she did with Peta2 about why she is vegan.

Even though I had been hearing about the ugliness of the animal industry for months, I chose to put off being vegan with a bunch of lame excuses. About a week and a half ago, through a dream, it finally hit me that animals are not ours to eat or use in any way. They have lives and futures worth living for too, just like humans. I feel that people do not have the right exploit their bodies as a food source. These animal products that line the supermarket walls and fill our refrigerators are stolen life.

Over the past week, I have been educating myself as much as I can about where our food comes from, what animals used for food experience, and the health and environmental consequences of the animal industry. Now, I just want everyone to know the truth about what they’re eating. Milk, hamburgers, and eggs weren’t born at the supermarket. They have a story behind them, and it’s a sad one. This is an issue that affects everyone. Eating is the single most important thing you do. It gives you nourishment. It keeps you alive. Why should you thrive off of another’s suffering?

So naturally, the first people I wanted to share the truth with was my family. But unfortunately, though they have been supportive of my lifestyle change, they did not want it to rub off on them. When I asked my mother if she wanted to know where her beef came from, she told me not to bother her with my vegan stuff. My sister responded similarly when I offered to let her know how milk is obtained, telling me to keep my personal beliefs to myself. The tortuous lives of animals used for food aren’t my beliefs! They aren’t my opinion, they aren’t fiction. They’re real life, and people must stop hiding from the truth! The hope that this food comes from cows, pigs, and chickens frolicking on a happy farm is a lie. People must wake up and realize what they are supporting. Because every time you purchase something, you are voicing your approval of the product, how it was created, and encouraging the company to continue producing it. I want everyone to know exactly what they are supporting. Because if everyone did, I believe that they would be vegan too.

Whew. So that’s what’s been on my mind this week. But I’m finally coming to terms with the suffering and damage I am responsible for during my lifetime, forgiving myself, and moving on to a new life. Now that I am vegan, I feel much happier and healthier. Every cell in your body is composed of the food you eat. If you eat flesh tainted with pain, suffering, and sadness, that’s what you will be. So eat the happy stuff!Β  πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Think vegan food isn’t tasty or satisfying? Once you learn about the horrors of the animal industry, food that is free of animal products will taste amazing. Check out this tofu and vegetable stir fry I made! Yummy! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

012And you should know, Oreos are vegan! (Oreos+coconut milk=pure vegan bliss!) 011My thoughts and mood have been lifted after living on a plant based diet for a week. I truly feel renewed. I cannot wait to see what benefits await me in the coming weeks. πŸ™‚

Best,

Leila

Resources:

Want to make the change? Going vegan has never been easier than it is today.

Check out vegan blogs! There are some really cool ones right here on WordPress. I recommend “My Vegan Valentine,” http://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/71184832/

Get a FREE vegan starter kit! http://www.peta.org/living/food/free-vegan-starter-kit/

14 thoughts on “My Vegan Diary: Week 1

  1. Congratulations on your choice to become vegan. I stopped eating meat over a year ago, because of the way we treat our ‘farm’ animals. I had an epiphany that the animals, mammals in particular, (I identified with the mothers mainly since I am one) are very similar to me, in that we are all trying to do the same job. I occasionally eat chicken when it comes from an actual farm but less and less often. I mostly cook vegetarian, vegan or pescetarian and offer Meatless Monday and Wheatless Wednesday on my blog. I support small, local farmers by buying their eggs and milk hoping that more people will farm humanely if it is profitable. My husband, who is a heavy meat eater, is supportive of my choices but I think it could get difficult if I became a strict vegetarian or vegan. I will be interested to see how it goes for you. Good luck!

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing about your lifestyle! It is good to hear that you are a conscientious consumer. I am happy you enjoyed my post and support my choice to go vegan. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. mopotkan says:

    Congrats! Even though I am not vegan or vegetarian, I am not eating a lot of meat. I don’t like it really, especially red meat. However, my sister is vegan and therefore I am dealing a lot with the vegan way of eating and living. From my perspective it is quite cool as I am somehow forced to be more creative in the kitchen than others who eat meat. There is one restaurant in Stockholm where you can eat delicious vegan (also vegetarian) food, so if you ever visit Stockholm, you need to go there: http://www.hermitage.gastrogate.com

    Like

    • Thank you so much for sharing! I am glad that you support my decision to go vegan. Thank you so much for the restaurant advice! Although I have no plans to visit Europe yet, I will start researching some vegan restaurants around where I live. Thanks!

      Like

  3. thehealthmakeover says:

    Hi Leila

    Thanks so much for liking my blog post. I’m completely new to this so I really appreciate that. Well done on going Vegan! I recently went vegan too (I’ve actually written a blog post about it that I’m putting up on Monday). I hope you are enjoying the journey.

    All the best
    Tania

    Like

    • Thank you so much for checking out my blog! I am glad that you support my decision to go vegan! I would love to read about your experiences going vegan too! Let’s support each other! πŸ™‚ ❀ Thanks!

      Like

    • Ok! πŸ™‚ I write a Vegan Diary post every Friday on my blog where I reflect upon my experiences. Feel free to check them out! If you want to document your experiences in a similar way, I’d love to read them too! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Congratulations on your decision to go vegan! Telling your family is not easy. I was a “closet vegetarian” for some years because I knew what my family’s reaction would be. (Half were on Atkins at the time.) But that was years and years ago … and they do become more supportive. My father, who wouldn’t even read my blog until recently, is now very supportive and proudly tells everyone I’m vegan! Now he is even open to trying vegetarian and vegan foods! So hang in there!

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your support! It means a lot to me that you checked out my blog! πŸ™‚ I understand that many people view the vegan diet as extreme and have difficulty switching to it all at once. My family is becoming more receptive to it a bit at a time. My sister has even agreed to try my coconut milk with her cereal. Thanks so much for your encouragement!

      Like

Leave a Reply

