Cruelty Cleanout

bunny

I recently made the decision to go vegan and live a cruelty free lifestyle. This obviously entailed eliminating animal products from my diet. But it also required switching to beauty products that are not tested on animals. Many large drugstore makeup brands such as Revlon and Maybelline test on animals, so a huge chunk of my makeup collection had to go :(. It is not completely necessary to dispose of these products as long as you never repurchase from these companies. However, I felt that I did not want to represent these brands any longer by wearing their products or promoting them in my blog. So from now on, you can be confident that you will only be seeing cruelty free, vegan cosmetics featured in all of my beauty posts! 🙂 I do not feel beautiful while wearing these products knowing that thousands of animals suffered to make them, and I hope you feel the same way! So below are the products that I am eliminating from my makeup collection, further resources on animal testing, and how to make your beauty routine cruelty free. ❤

Makeup I got rid of

A large dent was taken out of my lipstick collection. (I’d love some suggestions for great cruelty free lippies!) Revlon lipsticks are nice, but they are certainly not worth the price of others’ lives. I was also sad to see my Maybelline Color Tattoo cream shadows and gel eyeliner go. But until these brands go cruelty free, I will not be using their products!

???????????????????????????????

Brands in my collection

Revlon

Maybelline

L’Oreal

List of makeup popular brands that test on animals: http://www.mediapeta.com/peta/pdf/companiesdotest.pdf

Makeup that stayed

Luckily, I could keep all of my eyeshadow palettes, as Benefit, Urban Decay, Too Faced, Nyx, and Stila do not test on animals! 🙂 I was also relieved that my embarrassingly large Bath and Body Works collection could stay. None of their products are tested on animals!

???????????????????????????????

Brands in my collection

Stila

Nyx

Urban Decay

Too Faced

Physician’s Formula

Rimmel

Sephora

Benefit

Wet n Wild

Anastasia

Nivea

C.O. Bigelow

List of popular brands that do not test on animals: http://www.mediapeta.com/peta/pdf/companiesdonttest.pdf

More information

I am normally very protective of my things, but I had no difficulty parting with these products. You may be wondering why animal testing is so terrible that it would move me, a makeup enthusiast, to eliminate of so many beauty products from my precious collection.

If you are interested, this article revealed the cruel truth about animal testing to me:

http://www.peta.org/issues/animals-used-for-experimentation/cosmetic-household-products-animal-testing/

In my mind, using animals for testing is just as cruel as using their bodies as a food source. Even if becoming a vegetarian or vegan is not for you, I encourage you to consider making your beauty routine cruelty free. 🙂

Best,

Leila

26 thoughts on “Cruelty Cleanout

  1. Good for you, testing on animals is so unnecessary in this day and age, it’s good that there are plenty of brands out there that realise this and implement it in their product manufacturing! They definitely deserve a shout out. Great post 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for your support! I encourage you to research animal testing as well as the animal industry. It will fuel your fire! Knowledge is power. The more you learn, the greater strength you will have to kick those nasty products out of your life! If going cruelty free is something you are working on, I would love to read any posts you write about your progress Thanks 🙂

      Like

      • No probelm, you deserve it! I am definitely giving my followers a link to your blog and it would mean a lot if you did the same for me. Once again thanks so much for making this important decision! You are beautiful inside and out. 😣😄

        Like

  2. This is fantastic! I love seeing these types of posts. I finally got rid of the last of my non-CF eyeshadows the other day, and it felt so good! I am looking forward to seeing more of your posts about CF makeup. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks you so much! ❤ I'm so happy you enjoyed my post! It does feel liberating to know that none of the products you use nor the food you eat harm any living creatures in the making! Many cruelty free makeup posts will be up soon. I would love to check out any of your cruelty free living posts as well! 🙂 Thanks!

      Like

  3. I applaud your decision to go cruelty free. I like Tarte LipSurgence tints and I like my Beauty Without Cruelty lipstick (in Pomegranate, a bright coral pink). Hourglass and Josie Maran are also great companies. Good luck with your transition. And hey, now it’s a great excuse to shop more! ;D

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your support! I will definitely be looking into your product recommendations! :). Haha, supporting cruelty free makeup companies is the best excuse for shopping! 😉

      Like

  4. Throwing out makeup really shows how much you believe in a cruelty-free way of life. That’s a lot of money going in the garbage. I think you’re absolutely amazing. 🙂

    Cruelty-free companies with lip products: Greek Chic, Silk Naturals, Impulse Cosmetics, Fyrinnae, and I think Fierce Magenta (although I’m not 100% certain). The best place to go for cruelty-free is indie companies.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your support of my decision! I’m glad you enjoyed this post. Thanks for your cruelty free lip product suggestions. I will definitely be looking into them soon. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

