The Perfect Summer Album

all the ways

I am super excited that the first album I am reviewing is All The Ways You Let Me Down by the Candy Hearts Band! In case you are not familiar with them, Candy Hearts is an alt-indie band fronted by Mariel Loveland, whose girly-meets-punk fashion is beyond enviable. This album (which was produced by Chad Gilbert of New Found Glory) came out on June 10th, and I have listened to it almost every day since! πŸ™‚ In my opinion, it is the perfect summer album. Here is why you should make All The Ways You Let Me Down the soundtrack to your summer activities!

First off, the whimsical lyrics are bound to steal your heart. Each song is held together by strong instrumentals and carried by catchy, upbeat melodies. The open and honest lyrics bring this album to life by painting vivid pictures in your head. Just like a book, each song builds upon the last and the album as a whole tells a story.Β In addition, Loveland’s natural-sounding vocals are full of personality and expression, matching perfectly with the lyrics. Each song is like a drifting thought that blends seamlessly with the next, weaving together a daydream suitable for a summer night.

My favorite songs on the album are: I Miss You, The One to Get Me Out, Michigan, Coffee With my Friends, and Brooklyn Bridge.

My favorite lyric is: “Tell me that happiness was sent to the wrong address, and if we wait a while it’s still coming to me,” from Playing with Fire

So if you haven’t heard Candy Hearts’ album All The Ways You Let Me Down, I suggest you give it a listen. I promise it won’t let you down! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

Best,

Leila

Leave a Reply

